How do I cancel my Shogun account?

We are sorry to see you go :( Cancelling your account is as simple as uninstalling Shogun from your store, this will cancel your Shogun account. More details on how to uninstall an app on Shopify can be found in the article below.

We would love to hear any feedback that you have for us before you go! Please reach out to support@getshogun.com 🙂.

What happens to my live pages once I uninstall Shogun?

You keep all your live pages, even after you uninstall. They stay with your store as live pages, served up as pure HTML so they will never disappear.
Note: if you edit these pages outside of Shogun, your platform may strip the styling of the page, which would require re-publishing through Shogun.

What happens to my data?

While you do keep all of your live pages on uninstall, there is some data that may be lost.

Due to GDPR changes on Shopify, we are requested to remove your data after a certain amount of time after you uninstall Shogun or stop using Shopify. The data removed will only be data that is stored within Shogun, listed below,

  • Analytics data
  • Custom elements
  • Custom templates
  • Data collections
  • Experiments (A/B testing)
  • Form data
  • Instagram integration
  • Media assets
  • Snippets
  • Sync Data

Please note: if your content is removed from Shogun and you re-import a page, your pages may look slightly different due to the above data being removed from your store.

There is some data that is stored in Shopify that will be re-synced once you reinstall Shogun, even if your data has been removed, see below:

  • Product Collections
  • Pages
  • Products

What happens with my media assets?

Your media assets will remain live on your store, live pages will not break when your information is redacted. However, please note that these images will not be available through the media library once you reinstall.

How long will my data stick around?

After uninstalling, Shopify will inform us that this data needs to be removed within 14 days. You will receive an email containing the date that we will redact (delete) your data from our systems. Reinstalling Shogun before the redaction date will prevent the data from being redacted from our systems.

Will my custom elements continue to work?

Once the custom element is not referencing a data collection - then there will be no issues. If this is referencing a data collection that is deleted, this may stop working.

Will my Shogun forms continue to work?

No, once your data has been redacted your form elements will no longer work. Since we are prohibited from storing the data, your forms will no longer work.

If you are using custom forms on your page, they will continue to operate.

Did this answer your question?